Dieter Ruckhaberle Award / Residency Program 2020


In 2019 KHF-Berlin / Künstlerhof Frohnau and Kunstamt Reinickendorf have initiated the Dieter-Ruckhaberle-Award, a funded artist-in-residency for visual artists, including a production grant and an exhibition. The Dieter-Ruckhaberle-award remembers and honors the life and work of artist, curator and cultural politician Dieter Ruckhaberle. It is open to all visual artists whose work or wider professional practice is concerned with political, social or ecological questions. The selected artist/s will get a fully equipped live-in studio at the KHF / Künstlerhof Frohnau for two months, as well as a production budget of 2.000 € to cover art materials, equipment and/or living expenses. An exhibition in a gallery space in Berlin Reinickendorf will be presenting the results of the residency period.

The previous recipients of the Dieter-Ruckhaberle-Award are:

2019 – Luiza Prado

2020 – Annette Frick

Since the 1960s Ruckhaberle was a leading figure of West-Berlin’s cultural scene. He tirelessly promoted and worked towards better working conditions for artists in Germany, always convinced that artistic freedom could only be guaranteed by an absence of economic pressure. Ruckhaberle initiated the IG Medien, a union for media related professions, and the Künstlersozialkasse (KSK), a subsidized health insurance for artists. He co-founded various art institutions such as nGbK and the Staatliche Kunsthalle, as whose director he served for many years. As an artist Ruckhaberle created an extensive and multifaceted body of work, ranging between painting and sculpture, both abstract and figuratively, in search of new poetic forms and positions of critical contemporaneity. He passed away in May 2018 at his last major project: the Künstlerhof Frohnau, an artist “village” on the Northern outskirts of Berlin, which offers affordable studio spaces for artists since 1998.