Dieter-Ruckhaberle-Förderpreis 2021

Dieter-Ruckhaberle-Foerderpreis 2021 is awarded to Surya Gied

Künstlerhof Frohnau (KHF) is delighted to announce that artist Surya Gied, born 1980 in Cologne, is the recipient of the Dieter-Ruckhaberle-Foerderpreis 2021. In her site-specific paintings, installations and drawings, often accompanied by videos and performances, Gied renders her source material – global media landscapes as well as biographical stories related to migratory experiences – into a mesmerizing and multidimensional formal and conceptual language oscillating between abstraction and depiction, surface and space, subjectivity and fragmentated notions of the self.

Surya Gied studied at Universität der Künste in Berlin and got the degree Meisterschülerin in 2008.  After completing her MFA from the University of the Arts Berlin in 2008 Surya Gied received a stipend from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for Seoul, South-Korea and was also invited to be a guest-artist at the Seoul National University. In 2011 she was accepted to the Berlin artist postgraduate program Goldrausch Künstlerinnenprogramm and was given a project grant by the Goethe institute Seoul for the Artist Residency at the Seoul Art Space Geumcheon in 2013. Her work has been awarded with grants from the German Academic Exchange Service, the Goethe Institute Seoul and the Bosch Foundation Alumni Association. In 2016 Surya Gied was nominated for the Schering Stiftung Art Award and her recent works has been shown at the Hillyer Art Space, Washington DC, PyeongChang Biennale, South Korea and Savvy Contemporary, Berlin. Surya Gied lives and works in Berlin and Cologne, Germany.

The Dieter-Ruckhaberle-Foerderpreis is given out once a year to artists who in their work find innovative forms for addressing political, social or environmental subject matter. It has been initiated in 2019 by the art association Künstlerhof Frohnau in cooperation with Kunstamt Berlin-Reinickendorf. The award comes with a two months’ residency at KHF in Berlin, a production budget, and an exhibition and/or publication. The jury has been composed in all three years of Antonia Alampi (director Spore initiative), Kaya Behkalam (director KHF), Dr. Cornelia Gerner (director Kunstamt Reinickendorf), Gabriele Horn (director Berlin Biennial) and Heike Ruschmeyer (artist).